We have same God?

wpid-picsart_1445000528091.jpg

Are we believing in same God? Eventually I realized that with some Christians we have different imagination of God.

We used to think that God is good. God loves us all. Many christian speakers shout about Gods love. God is so kind He is like a grandfather that is smiling and sitting on a cloud. Another popular saying is that God is your friend. He is everywhere with you. Well for me its hard to imagine God walking with half-naked women or sitting in a bar with cigarette and beer. When I read the book Revelation I also can not imagine a cheerful dancing God. Wrath of God erupted on Job’s friends because they didn’t describe God exactly enough. Really? Friends punish each other for not accurately describing one other? Kind grandfather wants so accurate description of itself? So God is not a kind grandfather or a good friend.  He is much more than that.

I notice that people refuse to understand that on one side God is merciful but on the other He is a judge that punishes strictly. When I hear preachers and Christians speak of God as a regular person trying to describe what God feels, why He acted like that or will act. When they talk about God without reverence I remember what God said about Himself:

Then the LORD came down in the cloud and stood there with him and proclaimed his name, the LORD.  And he passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, “The LORD, the LORD, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness,  maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation.”

I believe if we write these words in big letters on the wall of church the people might think about them often. But I never seen a church with this verse. It is so not popular to talk about real God that described in Bible. These days I don’t even hear parents saying their children «don’t do that… God will punish you». Thank God my mother said this a lot and as I grew up I still care more about what God thinks of me. And its stuck deep in my head. When I see some people coming to church I wonder if they will dress the same if they were invited to a meeting with president of their country. I guess they will be dressed in something more nicer.

I love churches that have ethics lessons. This might sound strange but yes God wants us to be polite and respectful. In pursuit of modernity, perfect speakers and worship church leaders wonder about the growth of church. And I understand that not many people will want to go to a church if they preach modest and quiet life. But this is what Lord says “But to this man will I look: on humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word. (Is.66: 2) “. So it makes us stand before questions: To follow Gods words and humble, contrite in spirit and trembles before Him?  Or to imagine God as happy friendly grandfather who will help you always ? To spread the word about real God that can love but also punishes His children? Or speak only about happiness and kindness? To please God or society we live in?

 

6 thoughts on “We have same God?

  1. Yes, Julia. Too often man tries to make God fit in their box and completely disregard who and what He is. I love the verse you quoted. It’s a beautiful expression of Who God is–both just and merciful abounding in unfailing love, and also ready to exact justice. Excellent post. Press on to know the Lord, you are well on your way! God be with you.

    Like

  2. Excellent post. I recently was meditating on the fact that Christians don’t generally “venerate” the wrath of God, which is one of his attributes. The proper way to venerate the God who calls himself a “consuming fire,” is through fear. I find that the term “reverential fear” was designed in order to gloss over the fact that God is both the author of creation and destruction…and that God’s “justice” is always righteous and worthy of veneration- especially since one day he will eternally reject those who continually live in rejection of his love.

    Like

  3. I like some of your thoughts about God, Julia! He is so great that a million descriptions will fit Him in some way. Yet many do not understand His full nature. One God…so many identities! Good post…

    Steve

    Like

  4. One of the best comments I ever heard is that we get a distorted view of God when we emphasize one of His attributes over another. Yes, God is love (the Bible tells us so), but God is also holy and just. The same Bible that tells us God is love also tells us that He is angry with the wicked every day.

    Good thoughts!

    Like

Leave a comment